FM : UK tour by melodic rock giants to promote new album 'Thirteen'

FM : UK tour by melodic rock giants to promote new album 'Thirteen'


FM - THIRTEEN - new album out now LP / CD / digital (Frontiers)

"Another demonstration of how FM write better songs than anyone else in their genre 8/10" - CLASSIC ROCK

"Another superb effort from an exceptional band 10/10" - POWERPLAY

"A corker of an album. It even propels them to another level" - FIREWORKS

"Eleven wonderful songs. A group that knows its strengths and plays them to the maximum every time" - ROCK CANDY

Digital services link :

includes the singles:


Melodic rock giants FM have just released ‘Thirteen', their appropriately entitled thirteenth studio album, to rave reviews. Self-produced, it is yet another high quality record that furthers the UK-based group's standing as one of the leading melodic rock outfits in the world.

FM's current and longest running line-up has been in place since 2008. The rhythm section of bassist Merv Goldsworthy and drummer Pete Jupp anchor the band with a rock-solid backbone, while guitarist Jim Kirkpatrick delivers delicious hooks and melodies and keyboardist Jem Davis adds lush layers to their dynamic sound. And, what more can be said about singer Steve Overland? As Classic Rock magazine noted in their review of the new album, "his glorious voice is apparently immune to the passing of time." Together, the quintet have gelled once again as a mighty force on ‘Thirteen', delivering their distinctive brand of superlative melodic rock that fans have long come to expect.

The group commence a UK tour on 31st March before heading into mainland Europe in May. The full UK itinerary is as follows:

  • 31.03.22  BARNSLEY Birdwell
  • 01.04.22  COTTINGHAM Civic Hall
  • 02.04.22  MANCHESTER Club Academy
  • 07.04.22  LONDON Islington Assembly Hall
  • 08.04.22  NUNEATON Queens Hall
  • 09.04.22  NORWICH Waterfront
  • 15.04.22  BOURNEMOUTH Madding Crowd
  • 16.04.22  SWANSEA Patti Pavilion
  • 17.04.22  NANTWICH Civic Hall
  • 22.04.22  NEWCASTLE University
  • 23.04.22  GLASGOW G2 Garage
  • 29.04.22  READING Sub89
  • 30.04.22  NOTTINGHAM Rescue Rooms
  • 01.05.22  DURHAM Northern Kin Festival

ticket info:

FM formed in 1984 when singer Steve Overland and his brother, guitarist Chris (both formerly of Wildlife), teamed up with drummer Pete Jupp (ex-Wildlife and Samson) and bassist Merv Goldsworthy (ex-Diamond Head and Samson). They were joined by Didge Digital on keyboards and by the end of the year had secured a record deal with CBS/Portrait and toured Germany with Meat Loaf.

Subsequent tours with Tina Turner, Foreigner and Gary Moore maintained their momentum and in September 1986 FM released their debut album ‘Indiscreet' (including the single ‘Frozen Heart') to great acclaim, promoting it by supporting Bon Jovi on their ‘Slippery When Wet' tour.

The group consolidated their position at the forefront of British melodic rock for the next decade, performing extensively as headliners and also joining the likes of Status Quo and Whitesnake on tours to promote releases such as ‘Tough It Out' (1989), 'Takin' It To The Streets' (1991), with Andy Barnett replacing Chris Overland, ‘Aphrodisiac' (1992) and their 'final' album, ‘Dead Man's Shoes' (1995), with new recruit Jem Davis (Tobruk, UFO) on keyboards.

Following a lengthy sabbatical, they returned in 2007 for a one-off headlining slot at Firefest IV held at Rock City in Nottingham. The rapturous reception they received led to a decision to make a new album and, after a return to Firefest two years later, 2010 saw the release of their much-anticipated sixth studio album, ‘Metropolis', for which Jim Kirkpatrick replaced Andy Barnett on lead guitar.

The band haven't stopped since! They have headlined tours in the UK and overseas, played special guest slots with Foreigner, Journey, Thin Lizzy, Heart, Saxon and Skid Row, made festival appearances at Download, Planet Rockstock, Sweden Rock, Graspop, Steelhouse, Frontiers Rock Festival and Ramblin' Man Fair, plus performed their first-ever show in the USA at Melodic Rock Fest 5 in 2018.

Always active in the studio when not on the road, they have gone on to release  ‘Rockville' and ‘Rockville 2' (both 2013), ‘Heroes And Villains' (2015) and ‘Atomic Generation' (2018), as well as ‘Indiscreet 30' (a re-recorded version of their debut album, 2016), the live CD/DVD 'The Italian Job' (2019), plus the live album ‘Tough It Out Live' (2021).


  1. Shaking The Tree
  2. Waiting On Love
  3. Talk Is Cheap
  4. Turn This Car Around
  5. Love And War
  6. Long Road Home
  7. Be Lucky
  8. Every Man Needs A Woman
  9. Just Got Started
  10. Fight Fire With Fire  
  11. Be True To Yourself

Steve Overland - vocals, guitar
Merv Goldsworthy - bass
Pete Jupp - drums
Jem Davis - keyboards
Jim Kirkpatrick - guitar


Related articles

GUN - Announce Nuneaton Gig (2 Dec) + New Album 'Calton Songs'


 [3 images] More

Theatre Of Hate - ‘A Thing Of Beauty Tour'


THEATRE OF HATE ANNOUCE ‘A THING OF BEAUTY TOUR' - DECEMBER 2021 - TICKETS HEREIn 1980, Kirk Brandon formed Theatre Of Hate from the ashes ...
 [1 image] More